..I’ll be back… …(I’ve jut got to mark these essays)..

harley-davidson-fat-boy-flstf-and-terminator-2-judgment-day-galleryI’ve not posted anything in over a month… this is not good… I’ve already therefore not met one of my aims (which I only wrote in December)… I’ve also stopped 2/3 of the way through a series of posts.

This has highlighted several important things for me, that I probably should have seen earlier. These are, in no particular order:

1. Something had to give. Teaching and doing teaching well, is time consuming, when you have extra responsibilities that involve vast amounts of paperwork this takes even more time. Added to this, I read a lot of blogs and I like trying new things and it takes time to incorporate these new ideas into lessons (at least it does for me). I can’t do everything so I need to come up with a better idea of how to manage my time so I can still blog.

2. I like getting out of the house with the family. I leave for work early in the morning and get back just in time to give my 4 year old dinner – something I try to do most nights, (obviously he gets dinner every night it’s just not always me who gives it to him). As anyone with kids knows, after a full day of running around and doing stuff, early evening can be the most fractious and fraught with the fight to get the quartet of dinner, bath, books and bed done before midnight. I love it but it often leaves me exhausted and in need of a large glass of wine (for ‘glass’ read ‘bottle’). This leaves the weekend, which I’d rather spend getting out of the house with my wife and son, especially before he becomes something that comes from the lowest realms of hell.

3. Comparisons. Comparing myself and my output to teachers who only teach part time or who are on sabbatical is not realistic – I simply don’t have the time to read everything or think deeply about everything I want. Therefore comparisons are probably not healthy, it always leaves me feeling rather under-whelmed. This is not to say there isn’t a lot of bloggers with the same workload as me, I’m sure there is. I just want to know how they do it. Even if it it makes perfect sense and is reasonable I reserve the right to be petulant about it…

4. So many debates. I see the vast amounts of teaching blogs as a real benefit to the development of the profession; discussion and debate are the life blood which helps a profession develop. This has, however, left me with the slight problem of having too much too read and decide on my stance, I try and follow through every argument (except when they are plainly daft or annoying) to really understand the core of what is being said. The problem is that by the time I have done this I’ve often run out of time to write a post.

5. Simply writing or writing simply. My writing skills are not that great. I have to draft and re-draft till I am happy with a post and this takes time. I’m getting better but it is still time consuming.

6. The Americans, Modern Family and The Walking Dead. I blame good TV series as well, damn them!

So what does this mean…

Better organisation, more realistic targets, less comparisons and less of the TV marathons.

I’ll complete my last of the 3 posts in the next week and try and keep up with a post every 2 weeks. Blogging has been so valuable to me that I really don’t want to give up at the first hurdle.

This post is probably riddled with errors but I’ve got to try and make a group of Form 5’s understand the finer points of Ethical schools of thought tomorrow morning, which is going to be fun…

Leave a Reply

