Thanks to you… David Didau

5546957638_da2391076a_m

This is part of an ongoing series of posts where I would like to say “Thank you” to someone who has made me aware of something interesting, opened my eyes to an error in my reasoning, made me question my views or simply inspired me to do something different.

The first post is for David Didau and his recent post “The Unit of Education”, linked here.

This is not only for the fantastic use of a Spinal Tap clip, (already an excellent start) but also for highlighting the problems of education research. David skilfully explores why it really pays to be aware of the inherent problems of research in the field of education and wary of the conclusions we draw from said research. Having read several books related to this; including Tom Bennett’s “Teacher Proof”, Daniel Willingham’s “When to trust the experts” and Ben Goldacre’s “Bad Science”, I felt fairly self-assured that I was not overdoing the ‘Yes but education research shows that…’ line of argument. I’d like to thank David for pointing out several interesting issues that I hadn’t been aware of and reminding me of the somewhat shaky ground that some of my claims rested on.

In addition, I’d like to thank David for introducing me to the paper by Robert Coe; It’s the Effect Size, Stupid: What effect size is and why it is important. I’m currently reading this and it’s making my eyes hurt and my brain turn to mush and dribble out my ears!

Cheers David!

4 responses to “Thanks to you… David Didau

  1. Pingback: While looking for something else…: Items to Share: 11 January 2015 | The Echo Chamber·

Leave a Reply

